Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

ysmarine log

• ° History ° •


"Only A Northern Song" was originally recorded during the sessions for the Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band album, although it did not appear there. Most of the song was recorded in February 1967. "It's All Too Much" was recorded just before the release of Sgt. Pepper, although it was shortened (from eight minutes) for Yellow Submarine. "Hey Bulldog" (recorded in February 1968) and "All Together Now" (recorded in May 1967) were always intended for the film soundtrack.

"Baby You're a Rich Man" was also originally intended for the film soundtrack, but was released as the B-side to "All You Need is Love" instead and was not included in the Yellow Submarine album.

Two of the songs on the album had previously been released. "Yellow Submarine" had already appeared on Revolver in August 1966 and as a hit single at about the same time. "All You Need Is Love" had been a hit single in 1967 and had also appeared in the United States edition of Magical Mystery Tour later that year.

The second side features arrangements (recorded specifically for the album) of George Martin's orchestral score.

After mixed response to the album upon its release, The Beatles considered releasing Yellow Submarine as a five-track EP, without the film score but including the then-unreleased "Across the Universe" as a bonus track, but never did so.
The Beatles had previously released popular songs from their LPs as EPs in the British market.

U.S. cassette and eight-track tape versions featured "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" (from Sgt. Pepper) as an extra song on side two.

With the re-release of the film
in 1999, the original album was
re-released along with a
Yellow Submarine Songtrack album.

[ Back to: http://beatlesplane**** ]


This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat